At the Helm

Ground breakers that came before. Today's legacy builders. Tomorrow's visionaries.

SPIRE's leadership defines what's needed, and what we can do to impact our profession and beyond.

The Board

Today's SPIRE Working Board steers all our initiatives.

Selected from a pool of extremely well-qualified candidates, they enrich our offerings and community with their individual successes, diverse perspectives + exemplary skills. Combined, they epitomize the whole is greater than the sum of its parts as they navigate the opportunities and challenges in our industry today and set us up to be the innovators of tomorrow.

All hail from Stanford, and all bring an eagerness to contribute. We are grateful to have these leaders at the helm charting our course.

Jeff Jacobson

LaSalle Investment Management

Board Chairman

Hanns Lee


Board President

Loryn Arkow

Stroock & Stroock & Lavan LLP

Board Secretary

Hana Hardy

City of San Jose

Board Treasurer

Gary Beasley


Peter Griffin

Allen Matkins LLP

Mona (Qianmeng) Li

Essence Development Co.

Andy Richard


Wayne Brandt

Capital Funding Partners

Shallene Gross

Equity Group Investments

Christopher Mahowald

RSF Partners

Charlie Rose

Invesco Real Estate

Travis Duncan

DECA Companies

Patricio Gutierrez Tommasi

Frontier Industrial, Artha Capital

Meris Ota

Trammell Crow

Maya Theuer

Redwood Residential

Melinda Ellis Evers

Ellis Partners

David Steiner

Student Board Member - MBA '23

Rodney Johnson

JPMorgan Chase Bank

Brian Patterson

White Star Real Estate

Kenneth Woolley

Extra Space Storage


Our SPIRE staff are our feet on the ground.

They turn our big plans and ideas into successful events and fruitful collaborations. They keep us on track and informed with SPIRE communications. They mind all the logistics, big and small, and serve SPIRE community members every day, with quality and care.

Lauren Barley

Executive Director

Arezo Binai

Sr. Manager of Membership, Programs & Events

Alex Forhan

Sr. Manager of Marketing & Events

Regional Leaders

Our Regional Leaders bring the SPIRE connectivity home.

They create events that strengthen members' relationships to Stanford, to each other,
and showcase innovation and best practices at the local level.

Reach out to your regional leader to see how you can engage in, benefit from, and contribute to the local SPIRE community. Don't see your region represented or interested in becoming a regional leader? Inquire Here.

Northern California

Hady Abou Jaoude


Maya Theuer

Redwood Residential

Evelyn Weis

Calzada Capital Partners

Southern California

Jason Lopata


David Pringle

Morgan Stanley

Caroline Wu



Richard Klawiter

DLA Piper LLP (US)

New York City

Peter Ciganik

GTIS Partners

Sam Mercer


Pacific Northwest

Mark Hefner

MGO Realty Advisors

David L. Knowles

Stanfield Partners

Mike Medrzycki

Affiliated Engineers, Inc. (AEI)

Carey Crutcher Smith

Lease Crutcher Lewis


Ryan Whalen

Live Oak Real Estate Development

Washington D.C.

Kyle DeThomas

Ballard Spahr LLP

Cary Kadlecek

Goulston & Storrs, PC

Founding + Emeritus Board Members

Our Founding and Emeritus Board Members are the bedrock of SPIRE.

They had the original vision. They laid the groundwork, created the first events, enrolled our first members, and forged the relationships upon which today's SPIRE continues to be built.

Fred Allen

Allen Matkins

David Butler

Argosy Real Estate Partners

Sam Freshman

Standard Management Company

Chad Hagle

Aventine Development Corporation

David L. Knowles

Stanfield Partners

Patrick Orosco

The Orosco Group

Stephen Roulac

Roulac Global

Andy Walburger

Juniper Square

Carol Wyant

Pathfinder Consulting

Founders' Circle

Stanford alumnus Chad Hagle ('98) envisioned a robust and valuable organization created to serve the Stanford community within real estate and the broader built environment. That vision has been realized largely due to a dedicated group of like-minded individuals who shared his foresight and chose to bolster the foundations of SPIRE through their time and initial financial support.

Brian Avery
Loryn Arkow
Mike Biggar
Gregory Blaine
H. Terrence Blaine
Marge Blaine
Susan Booth
Dan Broderick
James Buie
David Butler
Mark Cho

Louis S. Cohen
Marty Clevenger
Damon Dunn
Samuel Freshman
Theodore Gildred
Amy Glad
Priyanka Goel
Julie Gutzwiller
Chad Hagle
Andrew Hartzell
Soroush Kaboli

Herman Kelting
Bruce Kirsch
Manish Kumar
David Knowles
Rebecca Lee
Huiping Liao
Jonathan Lischke
Mike Lowe
Robert Lowe
Robert Lowe Jr.
Philip A. Mahoney

Gary McKitterick
Donald Nanney
Chris Orosco
Patrick Orosco
Matt Pear
Philip Porter
Stephen Roulac
Desiree Stahley
Lydia Tan
Natalie Vania-Gandhi
Carol Wyant